Throwing Candy

July 10, 2007

Boeing 787 mania

Filed under: Uncategorized — erickayne @ 9:57 am

Boeing has been a part of Seattle’s history for a very long time. So when the premire of the brand-spanking new 787 came to pass, we were on it like white on rice. It was a lot of fun hustling against a competing newspaper (The Seattle Post-Intelligencer), as well as other news and wire services and seeing what shook out the next morning. I covered it over two days which included my first experience transmitting from my laptop while I was driving down the highway from one 787 assignment to the next using a Verizon card as well as my first ever helicopter ride.

For the first day, my assignment among other things was to photograph the Boeing 707 as it landed at Boeing Field for all the coporate bigwigs at 7:07 pm on July 7, 2007 (7/7/07 – get it?) I’m still in daily awe of how beautiful Seattle is, and when I saw Mt. Rainer at the end of the runway, I had a pretty good idea of how I wanted to frame things up. I can’t imagine how many times this photograph has been made, but here’s my version. Shot with a 500mm lens in case you’re interested in these kinds of things.
boeing_plane_ek_004_blog.jpg
A Boeing 707 lands at Boeing Field July 7, 2007. Part of the 787 rollout celebration included Boeing flying the 707, 717, 727, 737, 747, 757, 767, 777 from Paine to Boeing Field, where there was a VIP reception going on inside the Museum of Flight.

Here’s the view from my first helicopter ride. The editor wanted the line up of all the planes in formation. By the time I got in the air, they were already taxing away the 707. The editor liked this shot because it had the city skyline in the frame. I was just trying to concentrate on not dropping anything out of the door, including my cameras and myself.

boeing_plane_formation_ek_004_blog.jpg
Boeing’s line of jets line up at Boeing Field July 7, 2007. From the right begins the most recent model, the Boeing 777 (the new 787 is not yet operational).

The next day was the rollout. I covered the celebration down at Qwest Field: 25,000 Boeing employees gathered to watch the event on the jumbotron.

boeing_787_qwest_ek_014_blog.jpg
Lonnie Stevenson, left, and Rob Lambert, right, pass out free packets containing popcorn, bottled water, information on the Boeing 787 and a toy glider modeled on the new jetliner. Lambert said they had 25,000 packets to pass out.

boeing_787_qwest_ek_004_blog.jpg
Lise Brandhagen performs with the Seahawks Blue Thunder Drumline July 8, 2007 at Qwest Field to help celebrate the unveiling of the Boeing 787. The drumline performs at every home game.

boeing_787_qwest_ek_010_blog.jpg
Dane Anders, 7, plays with a glider modeled after the Boeing 787 July 8, 2007 at Qwest Field. Anders was there with his father to help celebrate the unveiling of the Boeing 787.

20070708_boeing_001_page_blog.jpg
20070709_qwest_001_page_blog.jpg

2 Comments »

  1. hi eric,

    i’m fellow apader misty mac. i just wanted to say i am really impressed by your images, and i especially like the one of the child with the airplane. i also like the way the pages were layed out- photos front and center. very nice.

    keep up the good work and i will keep checking back.

    Comment by misty mcelroy — July 10, 2007 @ 6:05 pm

  2. I ‘m with misty. Seattle has proven fruitful. There are so many pictures I wish I had made in this blog. I love the pie-drenched face, the goats, the spot news bust, dream girls, the troll and on and on. And Seattle did a great job of displaying your work. Really nice work.

    It was a VERY busy summer for me. I am now just gettting caught with emails. I’m glad you are staying in touch.

    If you send me your favorite picture, with a bio, a picture of yourself and the story behind the picture you pick, I can show case you on Region * front page, announcing your arrival in Dallas. What do you think?

    Comment by anita — September 4, 2007 @ 5:53 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

