Throwing Candy

July 10, 2007

Harry Potter in your own back yard

Filed under: Uncategorized — erickayne @ 11:03 am

For an assignment on where to find Harry Potter right here in Seattle, I was given a list of places that evoked a sense of the Harry Potter-esqe. I was otherwise given free reign on how I wanted to carry it out. I was even able to suggest the page design of one dominant element with three supporting secondary elements. I decided to use a Holga, an all-plastic camera that costs around $20.00. I love this camera because its all about the person behind the camera and no there’s no technology to hide behind. I also like it because the frames are never perfect, just like life. Sometimes I think digital cameras are TOO accurate. Life is never that sharp…

Anyway, enough of my blabbering and on to the pictures. And just for the record, no, I’ve never read any Harry Potter books and I shot everything in one day.

harry_potter_ek_001_blog.jpg
A shrine to a Hindu god glows inside Tenzing Momo Inc. at the Pike Place Market. The herbal apothecary supplies bulk herbs, tinctures and Chinese medicines.

harry_potter_ek_004_blog.jpg
Sam Halmrast, 4, plays with a giant chess set at Third Place Books.

harry_potter_ek_005_blog.jpg
Rachel Halmrast (CQ), 8, plays with a giant chess set outside Third Place Books.

harry_potter_ek_007_blog.jpg
A boy sits on the shoulder of the Freemont Troll underneath the Aurora Ave. bridge.

harry_potter_ek_010_blog.jpg
Mummified remains are on display at Ye Olde Curiosity Shop on the waterfront at 1001 Alaskan Way.

harry_potter_ek_011_blog.jpg
Flowers of many species bloom at the Volunteer Park Conservatory.

harry_potter_ek_012_blog.jpg
A Hindu god statue stands guard in front of jars of herbs at the Tenzing Momo Inc. herbal apothecary.

20070707_potter_page_001.jpg


2 Comments »

  1. hey eric,
    nice to see your work and i love the fact you post the news pages up! it’s great to see how they are running your images.
    cheers, k

    Comment by Kainaz Amaria — July 10, 2007 @ 3:08 pm

  2. Eric:

    Nice to see you blogging. A few thoughts:

    Love to see the big pix. But because I don’t read newspapers, don’t need to see hose tearsheets so big..especially since I’ve already seen the images on the blog large and in living color. Just little newspaper thumbnails will do for me, and only the great layouts. A shitty newspaper page just can ruin a picture and the beauty if a blog is…it’s your own magaine!

    Tag your posts. Uncategorized is not a tag

    Keep ’em coming. I love seeing your work;)

    Me? I’m in Arles, france for the photo festival. Lots of cool work and lots of work that Melissa–photo of the day gal-, “want tovomit in the back of her throat” on…and I like some of that work. Here’s da place. http://www.rencontres-arles.com/

    Saw an amazing Paolo Pelligrin show in Rome too. Made me think that we’re all copying a style that’s from the 1960’s-1970’s..but he is not.

    Thus I really like your holga stuff.

    Keep up the great work. And blogroll my site;)

    bob sacha
    (bobsacha.wordpress.com)

    Comment by bob — July 11, 2007 @ 9:20 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

