Throwing Candy

February 22, 2008

Catching up

Filed under: Uncategorized — erickayne @ 7:15 pm

Hola,

Long time, no post. A few things have happened since I’ve last made an appearance. I’ve made my new digs in Houston, where I’m a contract photographer for the Houston Chronicle. So far its been a blast. Before I get to the pictures from a few assignments I’ve had so far, I ended up editing a short vignette of a single mother of three, Kizzy Rowe. Rowe is also blind.

I ended up having to leave Dallas before I could finish the story.
I met Kizzie through the Lighthouse for the Blind. Most of the people in the classes at the center have been blind for a short while and are learning to cope with a different and difficult situation.

00018732-oes-blind-001_blog.jpg
Kizzy has a cigarette in her living room. It seemed most of the time I was there in the evening, the lights were turned down low or were off.

00018732-oes-blind-002_blog.jpg
Kizzy her her son walk back from Christmas shopping. There’s a Target nearby as well as a Big Lots. Both are a decent walk from their apartment. Dallas in general isn’t set up well for the visually impaired compared to other places where I’ve lived. For instance, in the San Francisco Bay Area and Santa Rosa,  CA, just about every crosswalk I encountered had audibles to help the visually impaired know when its safe to cross.

00018732-oes-blind-003_blog.jpg
Kizzy is very spiritual and often goes to bible study at her cousin’s house in south Dallas.

00018732-oes-blind-004_blog.jpg
Kizzy’s youngest daughter stands on the counter to grab a slice of bread. Kizzy has told her not to stand on the counter because of the danger. However, the kids often try and take advantage of their mother’s blindness. Nonetheless, Kizzy can almost always tell when something is amiss.

00018732-oes-blind-005_blog.jpg
Kizzy gives her older daughter a hug after a cleaning session before bedtime. Kizzy always tried to keep the house from getting messy, a challenge with three kids.

00018732-oes-blind-006_blog.jpg
Kizzy gives instructions to her son regarding cleaning. At 13, he often has his own ideas about how things should be.

00018732-oes-blind-007_blog.jpg
Kizzy practices mobility training crossing a very busy street near her home. Like I said earlier, Dallas practically acts as if people with disabilities don’t exist when Kizzy has to cross six lanes of insanely busy traffic relying only on sound and intuition. No bump strips, no audibles, nothing. Good luck, Kizzy.

00018732-oes-blind-008_blog.jpg
Kizzy’s youngest daughter wasn’t feeling well, and Kizzy needed a check-up anyway, so I joined them at a clinic that accepted Medicaid. I have to be honest, I’ve never been to a clinic like this for my own personal care. It was roughshod place in a ratty shopping strip, but I guess that’s the kind of care one can expect when you’re poor.

00018732-oes-blind-009_blog.jpg
Kizzy applies eyemake up. I thought this was interesting. Kizzy had sight up until a few years ago so she still has the same vanities that we all have.

00018732-oes-blind-010_blog.jpg
Kizzy checks up randomly on her kids at school. They never know when she’ll show up and she lives close enough to walk on her own. On this particular day, her youngest daughter had been acting up. Here, she has a talk with her homeroom teacher as Kizzy listens. Kizzy was not pleased.

00018732-oes-blind-011_blog.jpg
Kizzy’s older daughter starts to cry as her mother sings a gospel song following Thanksgiving dinner (which was awesome, by the way). Kizzy seems to think its because when she sings, she reminds her daughter of their great-granny who passed away recently.

00018732-oes-blind-012_blog.jpg
Kizzy calls her kids in to the apartment. Like I said earlier, I didn’t really get to finish this story. I have to leave it at this. Kind of a cliche ender, but I’m in Houston now. Maybe someday I can catch up with Kizzy and see how she’s doing.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

